The Official Student News Source of San Dieguito Academy.

Senate Election Updates

November 8, 2016

There are 34 US Senate seats being voted upon during today’s election. The senate majority is attained by a political party once they gain 51 of the 100 Senate seats.

So far, the Republican party welcomed:
Richard Shelby (Alabama)
John Boozman (Arkansas)
Marco Rubio (Florida)
Johnny Isakson (Georgia)
Todd Young (Indiana)
Jerry Moran (Kansas)
Rand Paul (Kentucky)
John Hoeven (North Dakota)
Rob Portman (Ohio)
James Lankford (Oklahoma)
Tim Scott (South Carolina)
John Thune (South Dakota)
Richard Burr (North Carolina)
John McCain (Arizona)
Chuck Grassley (Iowa)
Mike Lee (Utah)
Mike Crapo (Idaho)
Ron Johnson (Wisconsin)
Pat Toomey (Pennsylvania)
Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
Roy Blunt (Missouri)

The new Senate members of the Democratic Party are:
Richard Blumenthal (Connecticut)
Tammy Duckworth (Illinois)
Chris Van Hollen (Maryland)
Charles Schumer (New York)
Patrick Leahy (Vermont)
Michael Bennet (Colorado)
Kamala Harris (California)
Brian Schatz (Hawaii)
Ron Wyden (Oregon)
Patty Murray (Washington)
Catherine Cortez Masto (Nevada)

Maggie Hassan (New Hampshire) 


Neither candidate for the Senate from Louisiana received 50 percent of the vote. Therefore, a runoff election will be held on Dec. 10. 


These results give the Republican Party the Senate Majority. The Republicans now hold 51 of the 100 seats. 



Updated at 2:37 p.m. 


Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

The Mustang • Copyright 2020 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in